top of page


About Kyrgyzstan.jpg


                      Official  Name:     Kyrgyz Republic

                           Population:     (2022 est.) 7,000,000

         Capital & Largest City:     Bishkek

                                      Area:    199,951 km2 (77,202 sq mi)

                Official languages:    Kyrgyz, Russian

                               Currency:    Kyrgyzstani som

                    Internet domain:   .kg

    International dialing code:   +996

                                 Borders:    Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, People's Republic of China

                            Time Zone:    UTC+6 (KGT)


  • Kyrgyzstan or the Kyrgyz Republic is a landlocked country in Central Asia.

  • Kyrgyzstan is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the south, and the People's Republic of China to the east.

  • It's capital and largest city is Bishkek.

  • Ethnic Kyrgyz make up the majority of the country's 6.6 million people, followed by significant minorities of Uzbeks and Russians.

  • The Kyrgyz language is closely related to other Turkic languages.

  • It’s one of the world’s least crowded countries.

  • The mountainous Tian Shan region covers 80 per cent of Kyrgyzstan, which explains how the country has acquired the nickname ‘Switzerland of Central Asia’.

  • It’s home to the world’s second-largest high-altitude lake -Lake Issyk-Kul. It lies at an altitude of 1,600 metres, measuring 113 miles long, 37 miles wide and reaching depths of 688 metres.

About Kyrgyzstan
bottom of page